Coverart for item
The Resource Values and Intentions : A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, by J. N. Findlay

Values and Intentions : A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, by J. N. Findlay

Label
Values and Intentions : A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind
Title
Values and Intentions
Title remainder
A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind
Statement of responsibility
by J. N. Findlay
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
  • eng
  • eng
Summary
Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids altogether dogmatic intuitive methods. It argues that an organised framework of ends of action follows from the attitude underlying our moral pronouncements, and that this framework, while allowing personal elaboration, is not a matter for individual decision. The relations connecting our fundamental value-judgements with one another, and the frames of mind behind them, are not rigorously deductive but are sufficiently compelling to be called logical. Something of a ‘transcendental deduction’ of a well-ordered family for our basic heads of valuation is both possible and necessary. The work is further critical of the notion of obligation which has been extended far beyond legal contracts and understandings. The book also contains a chapter on religion
Member of
Additional physical form
Also available in print format
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Findlay, J. N.,
Illustrations
maps
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Taylor and Francis
Series statement
Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Ethics
  • Values
Label
Values and Intentions : A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, by J. N. Findlay
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Contents
Preface 1. Introductory and Programmatic 2. The Basic Modes of Consciousness 3. The Modes of Belief 4. The Modes of Action and Endeavour 5. The Modes of Wish and Will 6. The Values of Welfare 7. Injustice and its Disvalues 8. Duty and Moral Value 9. Epilogue on Religion. Appendix: Henriette Hertz Lecture entitled The Structure of the Kingdom of Ends
Control code
9781315739328
Edition
First edition
Extent
1 online resource (434 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781315739328
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)899003587
Label
Values and Intentions : A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, by J. N. Findlay
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Contents
Preface 1. Introductory and Programmatic 2. The Basic Modes of Consciousness 3. The Modes of Belief 4. The Modes of Action and Endeavour 5. The Modes of Wish and Will 6. The Values of Welfare 7. Injustice and its Disvalues 8. Duty and Moral Value 9. Epilogue on Religion. Appendix: Henriette Hertz Lecture entitled The Structure of the Kingdom of Ends
Control code
9781315739328
Edition
First edition
Extent
1 online resource (434 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781315739328
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)899003587

Library Locations

    • InternetBorrow it
      Albany, Auckland, 0632, NZ
Processing Feedback ...